Welcome to Fit, Green & Gorgeous!

Image

Hello everyone!

Welcome to my first ever blog post, the first of many. I’d like to start off with a big THANK YOU for reading this! I’d like to take this opportunity to introduce myself a little bit, and speak a bit about my health & fitness journey, and why I decided to start this blog.

I’ve been really passionate about healthy, clean eating and fitness for about a year now, although my whole life basically lead up to this moment (I’ll explain in a bit). Now it’s not to say I haven’t had my struggles and disappointments and my fair share of mistakes. That is probably one of my favorite parts of this journey, and it really is a journey. I absolutely love learning about nutrition; what to eat, when to eat it, how to eat it… how food works, how metabolism works, how the human body is just such an incredible, smart, perfect machine. I love learning how best to fuel my body and how to keep it strong, and make it even stronger. A HUGE part of the reason why I decided to start this blog is because I just love food so much, and I know there are tons of people out there who feel the same way as me. I want to be able to share my knowledge and my research with you, let you know my trials and my errors, my mistakes and my triumphs. This is also a fun learning experience for me. I’m nowhere near finished learning what there is to learn, and I want to share this incredible journey with you.

Fitness is also a huge passion of mine. I started off really wanting to lose weight and be healthy, as most people do. I never thought I’d literally fall in love with exercise. I went through it, day after day, refusing to give up, forcing myself to push hard, telling myself I enjoyed it… and then one day, it was like BAM! I LOVE THIS! I just can’t get enough! It’s a high, the BEST high, it’s addictive,  IT’S HEALTHY, it makes me feel good, it takes my stress away, it makes me a better person, a happier person, a more positive person, a more confident person. It boosts my immune system (I hardly ever get sick!), it allows me to think clearer, it makes my every day life seem so much easier. I look FORWARD to my workouts, and while I’m doing them, time flies! And I REALLY want to be able to share this with you too. I want you to fall in love with exercise.

Now, let me start off with the moment that my whole entire life changed…

Weighing in at 130lbs at only 10 years old, I was the heaviest, and saddest I have ever been. I remember lying in bed, touching my stomach, wishing for abs. Wishing I could change the way I looked. I knew I wasn’t destined to be a chubby little girl forever. I knew a fit and healthy and happy girl lived inside me, even at that age, I knew. I had to do something about it. It was decided, I knew I couldn’t live in this sadness and at this circumference forever. I therefore spent all summer before 6th grade working out on my own. At this age, of course, I knew virtually NOTHING about fitness. Every day I would go down to my basement, jump rope, do jumping jacks, crunches and pushups. Anything I could think of, I did in my basement! I cut down my portions at mealtimes (HEALTHY portions, not what I craved, which was a LOT), limited desserts, and upped my fruits and vegetable intake.

I WAS DETERMINED!

Three months later, after working SO HARD, I had lost 40lbs, and I COULD NOT believe this was me! The new, improved, happier, confident me. I set myself a goal and I achieved it! I DID IT! I went back to school that September, a healthy, fit, 90lb 6th grader. I have a very small build, and everyone was in shock! I honestly didn’t care what everyone said or thought. I felt like ME. I felt EMPOWERED. I felt HEALTHY! I felt… incredible.

After that HUGE achievement, I only “worked out” sporadically for the next few years; a few crunches here, some jump rope there. One day, about 4 years ago, I looked at myself and saw the same determination in my eyes, and felt the fire burning in my chest. I knew, I CAN DO MORE. I CAN BE BETTER.

I knew that fitness and I, we weren’t anywhere near done with each other. We needed to become buddies again, this time for LIFE.

I signed up to the gym. I was really super dedicated. I WALKED to and from (30 mins each way) for a good year, and went at least 3 times a week. I did the treadmill, the machines, the free weights. I took part in some of the yoga classes. I didn’t really know what I was doing, I didn’t change my diet (I’m a vegan, so I figured everything I ate is healthy anyway… so not true!), I just went with it. I didn’t change up my routine in almost 2 years. I didn’t see any weight loss, any improvements. Actually, I GAINED five pounds. I told myself it was muscle (because muscle weighs more than fat), but I knew it wasn’t… I just was so LOST and I didn’t know what to do. One day, my best friend suggested we buy the Insanity DVDs…………….

I never truly knew the height of my dedication, the depth of my passion and the extremes I could push myself to until I found Beachbody. Starting off with INSANITY after 2 consecutive years of 3 days a week at the gym, my limits were truly tested. Sure, I felt like giving up, I felt that it was too hard, I certainly felt like puking (excuse me…) but DID I GIVE UP?! HELL NO! I set my mind to it, I HAD TO DO THIS. And I broke ALL my barriers, and passed ALL my expectations. Every day when I PUSHED PLAY, I dug deeper than I ever thought I could go. And I made it through the grueling 60 days! That summer, I had “given up” carbs. Which means I ate tons of everything else. I was addicted to sugar. Once again, having not changed my diet, I saw no results except for improved stamina and cardiovascular endurance. I did not lose ONE POUND. In fact, I gained a few… I overcompensated in my calories because I overestimated what I was burning. I wasn’t keeping track of my nutrition. As I’ve come to realize now, you can’t out-train a bad diet.

The real, huge, PARAMOUNT, AMAZING changes started happening when I decided to buy Chalene Johnson’s TURBO FIRE. I TRULY found a mentor, a teacher, a coach, a friend in Chalene. I put myself in her hands, listened to all her advice. I started tracking my calories, eating CLEAN, LEAN, muscle building and energizing food. I was not a junk-food vegan anymore. I read up about vegan nutrition,  holistic medicine and the power of whole plant foods. I put my ALL into my workouts, and for the first time since that summer at 10 years old, I saw my body changing… I lost 20lbs in THREE MONTHS. I FINALLY HAD ABS! The results and truth was there, staring at me in the mirror, peeking through what used to be a soft belly. Not only that, but I began feeling so positive, so happy, so motivated, so RIGHT. I HAD to share my secret!

My mother saw my results and listened to me talk about these workouts and Chalene with such enthusiasm and excitement that she immediately purchased ChaLEAN Extreme and got to working out! I couldn’t believe it! And she LOVES it! Her body is changing every single day. She’s eating better, training harder, and this is a woman of 50+ years old who’s never been a fitness buff! My sister, who has always been a slim girl, blessed with a fast metabolism, realized that she had to change her life for the better. Not because I forced her, I never ever did that. But she saw the new life I had created for myself, and saw the new life my mother was creating for herself, and she knew she wanted to be the same. Two months ago, she started ChaLEAN Extreme after we came back from a wonderful vacation in Italy. At first, yeah, she found it hard and wasn’t in love with it. But she kept at it, and now she talks about fitness with almost the same enthusiasm as I do! And it’s incredible!!!

The second part, and just as important, is my vegan journey, but we’ll leave that for another time. I really wanted to share my story with you. I learned SO MANY important lessons all throughout my life, and I keep learning every day. Here is a short list of the most important points I take away from this story:

– you can’t outtrain a bad diet! EATING CLEAN, eating ENOUGH, but not OVEREATING is CRUCIAL to success. Just like you balance your checkbook, you have to balance your calories!
– PUSH yourself, even when you don’t want to. You’re NOT too tired! And you WILL learn to love it, I promise!
– Don’t ever get discouraged. Look at what you’re doing, and see if there’s something that can be improved.
– You’re a work in PROGRESS. So STRIVE for progress, NOT for perfection.
– Don’t compare yourself to others. You are a truly unique individual, with SO MUCH potential. Learn from others, but ultimately, you know what’s best for you. Just keep learning and keep trying and keep at it!
– NEVER GIVE UP!!!! Results are the direct byproduct of the effort you put in. So…
– GIVE IT YOUR ALL!!!

And of course, come back tomorrow for another post from me! 🙂

If you have any questions, comments, ANYTHING, please don’t hesitate or be shy to contact me. I’m here for you! So send me an email (verbichlaura@gmail.com), comment below, send a letter by owl post, whatever floats your boat!

Have a beautiful, wonderful day xxx

xxLaura

4 thoughts on “Welcome to Fit, Green & Gorgeous!

  1. Hey! Im Danielle (Rendezvous on tumblr) and I follow your blog on tumblr and came across your entry on the new blog! Love the idea of this blog! Im in the process of making one as well. You should definitely look into studying Nutrition or becoming a personal trainer. My life story is somewhat similar to yours, 4th-5th grade overweight, worked out hard around the same age & changed diet and lost alot of weight. I just graduated with a BS in Nutrition & am a personal trainer. I think you’d love it! Thank you for sharing your story and looking forward to the future entries 🙂

    Danielle

  2. This is wonderful darling!! I look forward to reading your new blog and learning new things from you!! I need to get back on track w the healthy eating and exercising so this is such a great motivation!

  3. OMG Laura! You are such an inspiration ! I will look forward reading your post! I want to know more about your training.I just want to cry when I think about finding some motivations to loose weight and eating better and be happier! We need to go grab a tea anytime soon! ( I promise I won’t bring some of my mother-in-law oh!Henry! ) Miss you xxxx
    (Sorry my English …)

Comment!

