FAT-FREE VEGAN NAVY BEAN CHOCOLATE CHIP CRAZY DELICIOUS CAN’T HAVE JUST ONE COOKIES

Who doesn’t love a chocolate chip cookie!?

EVERYONE loves chocolate chip cookies!!
Image
I made amazing, delicious, chewy, thick, buttery, awesome, oozy gooey chocolatey chocolate chip cookies last night! I have been craving chocolate chip cookies for quite some time now, but not any old cookie. I had a very specific texture and taste in mind, and I wasn’t about to settle for a pre-made or boxed cookie. I’ve tried quite a few vegan cookies, and don’t get me wrong, they’re all very good! My favourite has got to be from Sweets of the Earth. They make absolutely DIVINE cakes (my fave being the carrot cake) and cookies, all organic with a small list of ingredients. But I really wanted a big, doughy, chewy, REALLY chocolatey cookie. So I decided last weekend that I would make a batch on Saturday.

I looked up a few recipes online until I found one that seemed like the perfect fit. I got it from happyherbivore.com. The recipe is called “Fat-Free Vegan Butter Bean Cookies”. I was sold just by the name. FAT-FREE! BEANS! COOKIE! And the ingredients seemed awesome, and the prep seemed easy. All day at work, I was counting down the hours until I could get home with my bff and bake these cookies.

Now, I haven’t baked in a really long time. I used to bake every single weekend. But lately I really haven’t baked at all, for the simple reason that if it’s vegan, has sugar and is in my house, chances are I will eat it. All of it. So I just don’t bake. I have also been making a conscious decision to cut down on added sugar in my diet. I used to be super addicted to sugar, eating candy and desserts all the time. But because I’m on this journey for my health and fitness, it was about time that I cut down on it. And to be honest with you, I hardly ever crave sugar anymore! I thrive on my diet of fresh fruits, veggies, vegan proteins and sprouted grains. I’m sufficiently nourished that my body doesn’t feel the need to tell me to eat sweets. But of course, I always have my sweet tooth at heart, and tonight, I let her loose!

I made a few variations on the recipe, so here is how I made my FAT-FREE VEGAN NAVY BEAN CHOCOLATE CHIP CRAZY DELICIOUS CAN’T HAVE JUST ONE COOKIES!
Image
Ingredients:
– 1 cup rolled oats
– 1 cup spelt flour
– 1 tsp baking powder
– 1/2 tsp baking soda
– 1/4 tsp cinnamon
– 1/4 tsp cocoa powder
– 1/2 cup canned white beans (navy, cannellini, butter), liquids reserved
– 2 tbsp agave nectar (I used raw blue agave)
– 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
– 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
– 1/2 cup vegan chocolate chips

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Mix oats, flour, baking power, baking soda, cinnamon & coca powder together with a spoon until well blended.

In another bowl, place beans, 1 tbsp of bean liquid, applesauce, agave & vanilla extract together. Mash with a fork until your arm hurts, or use a food processor. Mash mash mash until it is all mashed up. Don’t worry too much if it’s a tad chunky, mine was.

Pour wet mixture into dry mixture and stir until well combined. If it is too wet, add some oats. If it is too dry, add a little bit of applesauce or water. Stir stir stir! Fold in the chocolate chips (raisins would work really well too!).

Form little cookies (or bigger cookies) from a tbsp-2 tbsp of cookie mixture, and place onto parchment paper, leaving about an inch in between each cookie. If you are feeling particularly devilish (which I was!), place a square of decadent dark chocolate in the middle of the cookies.

Bake for 15 minutes, until the edges are turning light brown and the middles are firm. It is normal for these cookies to not be super soft. That’s the best part!

Take them out of the oven, let them cool for a few minutes, and then indulge!

***************

Simple, but delicious. You can add your own twist to these as well. Adding hemp seeds & ground flax seeds will add a little bit of flavour and more nutrients and protein, although the beans allow for a lot of protein! You could add some raisins, flaked coconut, dried cranberries, a dollop of jam in the centre of the cookies or even a spoonful of peanut butter to the mixture. I used agave nectar instead of sugar, but you could use raw sugar if you prefer. I don’t like it too sweet, so the amount of nectar I put was PERFECT.

My first bite was insane! The square of dark chocolate I put in the middle was from a bar I bought in Italy, and it is the most delicious chocolate. It was the perfect addition! It got super gooey and oozy inside. Mmmmm!

I am SO happy with this cookie recipe, I will definitely be making it again, in many different variations. I love what the beans add, just the right thick texture, you don’t taste them at all. And you don’t feel TOO guilty about eating more than one (j’accuse!). Happyherbivore.com has another great dessert recipe that I will be trying, black bean brownies! Stay tuned!

Have a great Sunday guys and gals, peace and love!

xx Laura

3 thoughts on “FAT-FREE VEGAN NAVY BEAN CHOCOLATE CHIP CRAZY DELICIOUS CAN’T HAVE JUST ONE COOKIES

  1. Ou!! I think we should add peanut butter next time! I love the peanut butter and chocolate combo! Love the post 🙂 and I loved the cookies! Thanks!

Comment!

