My Personal 30 Day Challenge

Good morning and happy Wednesday!

Today I’m going to talk to you a little bit about personal challenges. Every Monday for the past month now I set myself a few little personal goals, or what I call “challenges”, for the week. I’ve noticed that ever since I started doing this, I’ve adopted many of these goals as habits, and now I don’t even need to call them “challenges” as I do them all the time. I can’t believe how easy it was for me to take on these new good habits! It just goes to show you what a little bit of determination and discipline can do, sometimes really quickly and without you realizing.

Everyone is different though. What works for me may not work for you. But the fact of the matter is, if you want to be constantly growing, becoming a better, happier, stronger, fitter person, you need to step out of your comfort zone. Of course you’re going to do great things just by doing what you’ve always done; you’re an amazing person! But if you want to truly reach your goals, live your dreams and live to your full potential, you need to set some out-there goals, WRITE THEM DOWN, and do everything you can to make sure that you will achieve them.

I’m going to recommend a book right now, and I know you’ve been recommended books in the past and probably have not checked them out. Well, you HAVE to check this one out. It is called “PUSH”, and it is written by Chalene Johnson, a personal trainer, creator of my soul-mate workout TurboFire, and overall amazing woman. Here is the description right off her website (couldn’t have said it better myself!):  “Chalene gives you the life-changing tools you need to change your habits with 30 days of practical steps that include pinpointing goals, reverse engineering a course of action to achieve them, and kicking the clutter—whether that means junk food, draining exercise regimens, or toxic relationships. In one month, you will learn how to create layers of accountability and support so that success is your only option.”

When I first went through the book, my first 30 days, I was very lost in my life and didn’t know which direction to take. The book opened up my eyes, and made me realize my potential was out there, even though I hadn’t found my “thing” yet. I just finished going through the book a second time, a few months after the first time, and now that I know what I want to do and who I want to be, it makes so much more sense to me. I HIGHLY recommend this book for anyone who needs to get their life on track. It is AMAZING!

Now, onto the main event… my own personal 30 day challenge. I have just read a book called “the Thrive Diet” by Brendan Brazier, an iron-man triathlete and creator of VEGA. I was so enlightened by this book. He explains so much about food and the effects on your body, whether as an athlete or someone who just wants to be as healthy as they can be. I decided, along with my best friend, that I would take on the challenge to live the THRIVE DIET for 30 full days. I’m onto day 3, and I feel like a million bucks. The word “diet” in this case doesn’t mean a restrictive calorie-low weight-loss program. This is NOT about BEING ON a diet, it is about HAVING a BETTER DIET. BIG difference!

The basis of this diet/lifestyle is mainly raw, whole, nutritionally-dense plant foods. There is some cooking involved, but anything cooked is cooked at a low temperature to ensure that none of the nutrients are harmed by heat. This way of life is meant to provide the body with non-stimulating, stress-free fuel, easily digestible food, and food that is supercharged with live energy. Eliminating processed food has been my goal for many years now, and I have almost eliminated all of it, besides some soy products. So for me, switching to the Thrive Diet isn’t as difficult as it may be for others who may want to try it, for I haven’t eaten meat or dairy in years. (Brendan explains ALL of this in his book. He is so thorough and truly an expert in this. Seriously, check it out!) But this is totally a challenge for me! I never thought this would be something I’d try. While I am not going to be completely raw for these 30 days, it is mainly raw, and this is a crazy adventure!

On Sunday and Monday I did the groceries with my best friend. I bought my first food processor, and she bought her first dehydrator. We spent 3-4 hours preparing all our meals for the week. It took us about 30 minutes and a little meltdown to figure out how to use a food processor, but WE DID IT! I was stressed out all day, worrying that we wouldn’t have enough time to make all the food, wondering how it would turn out, hoping this wouldn’t be a total disaster. I didn’t want to go into it with a negative mindset so I stayed positive and excited, but a part of me was worried… what if I can’t do this? But my first day, I felt incredible. My second day, I was super satisfied after every meal, having planned it out the night before in My Fitness Pal, and I loved every single meal I made! Today is day 3, and I’m super excited for the rest of this journey. They don’t call it a challenge for nothing, and I’m ready to be healthier than I have ever been! This is so exciting!

So, let’s recap…
– AMAZINGNESS begins at the END of your comfort zone.
– You can do ANYTHING you set your mind to.
– Believe in yourself.
– Everyone has doubts, everyone feels lost sometimes. It is those of us who keep going on, who try harder, who DO MORE, that accomplish our goals.
– WRITE DOWN your goals.
– Tell someone your goals. This will add a layer of accountability, and you will follow through.
– Check out the books I recommended: PUSH & THRIVE.
– SMILE! And know that you are on your way to greatness. Don’t stop believing.

I will keep you updated on my adventure throughout the next 30 days, and share some recipes that I have been making as well! Stay tuned!

Have a beautiful day!

Peace, love and positive vibes,
xx Laura

3 thoughts on “My Personal 30 Day Challenge

  1. Word of the day for Monday was : Struggle. We got over it together and work great as a team! I really love that we’re doing this together 🙂

  2. I think today, I needed to read this. I am in the middle of creating a challenge for myself, and i’m going to check out Chalene’s book as well. Seriously, thank you. 🙂

Comment!

