Organic VS Conventional

I absolutely LOVE grocery shopping. Even as a kid, I would love picking out the fruits and veggies (and yes, unhealthy lunchbox snacks). I get really happy and excited knowing that it’s time to replenish the groceries! With my long list of “necessities” & a bunch of resuable bags in tow, I make my way to the organic grocery store between 1-2 (sometimes 3…) times per week. I could literally spend hours in the store… and I actually have. I wander around the produce, filling up my cart, touching the fruits and vegetables, comparing ripeness and color. I wander up and down the aisles reading labels and ingredients, not really noticing prices as my cart gets heavier to push, and I always get a little shock when I get to the cash.
But I honestly don’t mind spending money on food. I just LOVE food! Especially when it is fresh from the farmer’s market, or organic. I try to buy mostly organic whenever I can. I notice a huge difference in flavour versus conventionally grown produce, which is essentially full of chemicals and hormones (NOT something I want to put in my body if I can avoid it). The freshness, tastes, textures and aromas of organic food are so much more REAL and delicious than conventionally grown food. They taste and smell the way they’re supposed to. For example, have you ever eaten some strawberries or a tomato and thought, well this tastes nothing like a strawberry or a tomato, but like water? Exactly! I like to know that what I’m putting into my body is the purest, simplest, freshest I can get. If that means spending a bit more, that’s fine by me! My body is a temple, and I treat it as such.
While some foods are for sure more expensive when bought organic vs regular, there are some ways you can cut back on prices. Have you ever heard of “the dirty dozen“? This refers to a list of a dozen fruit and veggies that are extremely high in pesticide residue. These are foods that you should ALWAYS buy organic. Here they are (brace yourselves!):

  • Peaches
  • Apples
  • Sweet Bell Peppers
  • Celery
  • Nectarines
  • Strawberries / berries (A great idea that you can do is buy a bunch of berries at the market in the summer and freeze them in batches, that way you can have fresh, organic, ripe berries all year long without having to buy any!)
  • Cherries
  • Pears
  • Grapes 
  • Spinach
  • Lettuce
  • Potatoes

And alas! A list of the 12 least contaminated foods. Here is where you can save money and buy conventional.

  • Onions
  • Avocado
  • Sweet Corn (Frozen)
  • Pineapples
  • Mango
  • Asparagus
  • Sweet Peas (Frozen)
  • Kiwi Fruit
  • Bananas
  • Cabbage
  • Broccoli
  • Papaya

Not only does organic food taste better, but it is as close to nature as you can get, especially if it is organic AND local (which is why I love summer and farmer’s markets). Your body works hard to keep you safe and healthy, so why risk harming it by eating foods loaded with chemicals? Organic food is nutritionally intact and whole. All the good stuff is in the perfect condition for your body to absorb it.

Think of all the acres of land that are sprayed with these harmful chemicals. These chemicals get leeched into the soil and contaminate oceans and bodies of water, which contaminates people’s homes & livelihoods, fish, ocean life, vacation spots and our very own drinking water. They cause so much more harm than good. They literally destroy the earth. The world will be much healthier once we all try our best to consume organic foods. The more that we consume, the more funds go to these organic farmers. The more funds they have, the more they’ll be able to produce, and eventually the prices won’t be as steep.

It’s a domino effect, and we all count! So GO ORGANIC! The future will be much healthier and brighter and tastier! 🙂

Tomorrow I’ll be writing a post about what is usually on my grocery list, along with some brand names in particular that I love. See you then!

Have a happy Friday!

Peace, love and clean food,
xx Laura

One thought on “Organic VS Conventional

Comment!

