What to Buy: Vegan Groceries

Good morning! Happy Saturday!

I wrote about organic vs conventional foods and produce in yesterdays post, so today I’m going to write a little list of the groceries I usually buy. I shop primarily at two organic natural food stores called Rachelle Bery and Tau. There are a few locations in Montreal that I visit, and I’m lucky because there are two right by where I work, and one right near my house. I usually do a big grocery on Sunday or Monday, and replenish whatever I’m missing throughout the week. I live with my parents and my sister, so many things go really quickly (mainly the bananas, fruit and lettuces).

Here is the breakdown of what I buy:

FRUIT:
Bananas, apples, pears, pineapple, oranges, grapefruit, lemons, limes, berries, peaches/nectarines (in season), melons, grapes, kiwis, dates, mangoes, persimmons, pomegranates, cranberries. Anything goes!

VEGETABLES:
Mixed greens, sprouts, spinach, avocado, beets, carrots, celery, cucumber, kale, garlic, ginger, onions, red bell peppers, tomatoes, sundried tomatoes, zucchini, squash, sweet potatoes, yams, fennel, cabbage, parsnips, dried sea veggies (in the Asian foods section).

NUTS & SEEDS:
Raw & unsalted- hemp hearts, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, walnuts, pecans, macadamia, pistachio, almonds, sesame seeds.

BEANS & LEGUMES:
Either dried or cooked and canned- adzuki beans, black beans, black-eyed peas, kidney beans, cannelini beans, navy beans, chickpeas, mung beans, lentils, peas (yellow & green).

OILS:
Extra virgin- olive oil, hempseed oil, flaxseed oil, coconut oil.

VINEGARS:
Apple cider (with mother), balsamic.

HERBS & SPICES:
Both dried and fresh- Italian herbs, basil, thyme, oregano, rosemary, dill, allspice, pumpkin pie spice, powdered garlic, cardamom, cayenne, chili flakes, tumeric, curry, cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg.

MILKS:
Unsweetened almond milk (I like Silk True Almond or Almond Breeze, which is at Costo for 8.99$/6), soy milk (I like Silk original for my lattes). I don’t usually buy any other types, but I have tried hemp and rice milk, and they’re very good.

SPREADS/CONDIMENTS:
Nut butters (I like “Artisana” for raw almond, and “Compliments organic” for peanut), unsweetened jam (I like “Divine Harvest” and “Fior Di Frutta”), Vegenaise (reduced-fat), pesto (Le Grand makes a great vegan one), Earth Balance (original whipped or coconut), sauerkraut, pickles & relish (I really like “Bubbie’s”). Lately I haven’t really been using spreads, and I’ve made my own ketchup. I’ll share the recipe in another post!

BREAD:
“Ezekiel” sprouted grain tortillas & bread, “Genesis” sprouted grain and seed bread (found in the freezer section). I don’t eat any other breads, these are my absolute FAVE!

EXTRAS:
Orange juice, tofu (I like Unisoya), tempeh (I like Noble Bean), nutritional yeast (powdered, inactive yeast that is full of protein and B vitamins, and has a cheesy/nutty flavour), minced ginger (I like the company “the Ginger People”), stevia leaf powder, raw blue agave nectar, brown rice miso paste, matcha powder, rooibos leaf, green tea, decaf chai tea, tisanes, roasted carob powder, raw cacao nibs, maca powder, buckwheat, quinoa, couscous, barley, wild rice, brown rice, buckwheat flour, spelt flour, baking soda & baking powder (aluminum free), VEGA performance protein powder (I particularly love chocolate, but it is available in vanilla and berry flavours), body lotion & body wash (I loveee the ones from “Desert Island Organics”, they are pure and simple and they smell amazing).

VITAMINS:
I don’t take any multi-v’s anymore since starting to have my Shakeology every day, but when I did I bought one called VitaVegan, which was amazing.

So there you have it! A quite extensive grocery list. I like to have all these things in my house so that I’m always prepared to make whatever I need! Of course there are times when I buy some different things, I love experimenting and trying new things. I love discovering a new company and trying things that I see for the first time.

There are many other things available at the grocery store that I haven’t mentioned, simply because I don’t buy them anymore (such as mock meats and soy yogurts). I’m eliminating processed food, added flavours and sugars as much as possible. But go ahead and give these products a try! I have been eating them ever since I became vegetarian and vegan, and they’re very tasty. Yves makes some great veggie deli slices and veggie ground round for chilis and pastas, and Gardein makes a killer selection as well. Daiya makes INCREDIBLE vegan cheese shreds (they stretch and melt!). Amande makes great almond milk yogurt, and there are tons of options of soy yogurts out there. Give them a try! Tell me what you think!

Experiment. That is the fun part of healthy eating, there are so many options available once you realize that it isn’t a boring way of eating. I’ve never had more fun! 🙂

Have a wonderful Saturday everyone, and a great weekend!

Peace and love,
xx Laura

7 thoughts on “What to Buy: Vegan Groceries

  1. I live in a very small town and as far as I know, we only have 1 small store that sells any kind of health food, so my options are limited. When I go to the grocery store I raid the produce and attempt to buy veggies organic and/or made in America, I skip the canned/boxed food sections and pick up frozen veggies and my meats (mostly chicken, but sometimes pork chops, but rarely red meat. We eat a lot of wild game). Do you have any advice on “regular” grocery store options, since that’s pretty much all we have available? I do but quinoa and wheat pasta at the other store, but that’s about it

    1. Hey Tara! Well, in “regular” grocery stores here in my city, there are many options available as well. Quinoa and whole wheat pasta are great staples. Frozen fruits and veg are really good options too, since they’re frozen at the peak of their freshness, so you’re guarenteed to have a great piece of produce. Be sure to read labels. Whatever you buy, always make sure you can understand each word and that the list isn’t more than a few ingredients long. Whole wheat, grainy breads, tortillas, pitas. Sweet potatoes are a great source of carbs and better than starchy white potatoes. I hope this helped! 🙂

Comment!

