Raw Zucchini Pasta & Sundried Tomato Marinara

Almost two weeks into my 30 Day Thrive Diet/Raw Challenge and I can’t believe this is the first time I’ve made zucchini pasta! I feel like I have been missing out! This was DELICIOUS, decadent, saucy, chunky, full of flavour, just perfect for a former pasta addict like me. 🙂

There are very few ingredients and very few tools you need to make this recipe.

The first tool you will need is a SPIRALIZER, which is a contraption where you will put your zucchini in, and it will slice it thinly into fettucini or spaghetti-like ribbons. It’s really quick and awesome! You definitely don’t 100% need one though. You could just as easily use a VEGETABLE PEELER and peel those zukes into strips. Simple!

The second tool you need is a BLENDER or a FOOD PROCESSOR, to blend the sauce. A hand blender will work just fine in this case.

***********************

Ingredients*:
– 6 zucchini (about 2 per person)
– 2 cups sun-dried tomatoes (with or without oil, your choice)
– 1.5-2 cups chopped/diced tomatoes (fresh or canned, your choice)
– 1 tsp oregano
– 1 tsp rosemary
– 0.5-1 cup basil
– 2 cloves of garlic
– 1/4 of an onion (yellow or red, your choice)
– sprinkle of pepper
– pinch of sea salt
– chili pepper/flakes (optional– if you like your sauce with some heat!)

Instructions:

1. Spiralize or peel zucchini into strips. Set aside.
2. Bash all the other ingredients up in a blender or food processor.
3. Toss together and enjoy! (I packed the zucchini & sauce separately and make small portions at a time, so it doesn’t get all soggy)

*the herbs can be fresh or dried, I used a mix of both. I like my garlic, so I always add a bit more. If you use sun-dried tomatoes without oil, it makes this recipe basically fat-free! I used Italian canned tomatoes because they’re so delicious! Feel free to play around with this recipe, add ingredients or remove what you don’t like.

You can use ANY sauce you want with zucchini pasta! I know I’m going to try so many different variations. Next on my list is making my own raw vegan pesto. I just love pesto!

I just love eating raw! These past two Monday’s, I have been cooking (or rather, food processing) with my best friend Stefanie to prepare our meals for the week. I am so thankful that I have her to share this experience with! We really help each other, motivate each other and inspire each other in every way, and doing this challenge with her has been awesome. We made so many delicious things this Monday, I wish you could all taste them! This recipe has been my favorite so far.

Eating raw is making me feel the healthiest and strongest I have ever felt. I get through my workouts with so much more intensity and I am able to push myself harder. I don’t feel sluggish throughout the day, I don’t get any headaches, I never feel weak, I feel vital and energized and sweet and alive! I’m loving it so much! 🙂 It’s not as hard as I thought it would be, either. Meal planning and prepping at the beginning of the week is a huge help. All I need to do is pack all my foods in Tupperware the night before, make my salad and pack my fruits. I also write in all my foods into my calorie tracking app My Fitness Pal (I have written a post about this before, check it out!) so that I know how much of everything to bring. I like having my meals planned a day in advance, it really helps me stay accountable and know how much I am consuming.

So there you have it! Carb-less guilt-less raw zucchini pasta! I hope you all try it out and LOVE it! Let me know in the comments!

Feel free to email me (verbichlaura@gmail.com) or add me on Facebook! I’d love to connect.

Have a great day!

Peace, love and pasta,
xx Laura

4 thoughts on “Raw Zucchini Pasta & Sundried Tomato Marinara

  1. Oh yum! I love zucchini pasta, but sometimes need inspiration to change up the ‘sauce’…this was just the push I needed. I am going to give this a try this week. 🙂 Yum. Also, I love your blog, keep it up!

Comment!

