Treat Meals & Karlie’s Kookies!

TREAT MEALS.

Notice I said “meal” and not “day”. Because I eat very close to 100% clean every day (it has taken me MONTHS to get to this stage, so please don’t worry or compare yourself to me if you’re not there yet), I allow myself to go crazy for one meal once a week. And last night, I tell you, I went absolutely INSANE!

I have found that planning my “cheats” (or “treats”, which is what I like to call it, because it is a delicious treat!) at the beginning of the week puts my mind in the right setting to keep me on track all week. I absolutely love eating clean. When I compare not only my body (which has drastically changed since eating super clean) but my complexion, my hair, my nails, my mood, my emotions, my thoughts, my spirit to what it was a year ago, it seems crazy to me that I have changed so much. Being healthy and living a FIT life has been the best decision I have ever made.

Exercising gives you energy! It makes you feel STRONG, beautiful, empowered, confident. Overcoming your obstacles, setting goals for yourself (whether personal, health-related, financial) and achieving them, this gives you confidence. You become a bigger, better, stronger (emotionally & physically). There is absolutely NO reason not to get into fitness. If it makes you a better person, a more patient person, more loving, why would you pass that up? There’s no magic pill, no quick-fix or short-term solution. Fitness is a lifestyle, a beautiful lifestyle, and it’s free and available to everyone at any time you decide!

Along with fitness is healthy eating. EAT FOOD. NOT TOO MUCH. MOSTLY PLANTS. This is the real life truth of food. And I have noticed the amazing effects this has had. It’s easy to eat food that’s “grab and go”. A bag of chips, a candy bar, sugar-coated or salt-coated nuts mixes (often over-proportioned), white carbs. It is also easy to see the negative effects this has on ourselves. How do we feel after we consume these foods? Sluggish, tired, guilty, gross, ashamed, craving more, hungrier than ever. But when we eat WHOLE PLANT FOODS, fruit, vegetables, greens, beans, we feel alive, energized, beautiful, whole, radiant, satisfied. We are not missing any nutrients when we consume foods as nature intended it, so cravings are massively decreased (A HUGE PLUS!).

All this is really the basis of how I live my life. And once a week or once every two weeks, I like to splurge on indulgences that I personally love. This week was COOKIES AND PEANUT BUTTER.

My coworker turned close, wonderful friend Ian and I spent the night baking at his apartment. It was his last day working with me at Aveda, and we decided to toast the end of an era with Karlie’s Kookies. He went to NYC last weekend and picked up some Earth Balance Coconut Oil Peanut Butter. It was…. divine. DIVINE! I can’t wait until we get it in Canada. We made the kookies, tried them raw. AMAZING. Baked them, tried them straight out of the oven. AMAZING, we needed a spoon though. We worried that we got something wrong… are they supposed to be this mushy and breaking apart? We froze them for 15 minutes… and we died and went to heaven.

*****************************

So here is the recipe for Karlie’s Kookies!

The Perfect 10
Makes 8 large cookies

200g almond flour
100g gluten-free whole oats
1g baking soda
2g baking powder
2g kosher salt
0.5g xanthan gum
30g slivered almonds, lightly toasted
120g mini dark chocolate chips
80g olive oil
90g agave syrup

Heat the oven to 300 degrees F. In a stand mixer, with the paddle attachment, mix the dry ingredients together. Add the liquid ingredients and paddle until well combined. Scoop cookies firmly with an ice cream scoop onto a parchment-lined sheet pan. Flatten each mound of cookie dough fully with the palm of your hand. Bake cookies for 8 minutes, or until golden brown. Store in an airtight container or eat right away!

***********************************

These taste like HEAVEN. They are like a pastry, a buttery decadent, delicious, crazyness, gooey, chewy, flaky, almondy, chocolatey wow. Give ’em a try, and let me know what you think of it!

THANKS KARLIE! And thank you Ian, I love you so much!

Have a happy and healthy and beautiful day!

Peace, love and kookies,
xxLaura

Comment!

