How to Succeed! (& an update on my personal challenge)

On November 12th, I started a raw/Thrive diet challenge with my best friend. Today I embark on week 4! I can’t believe how quickly the time has flown! I didn’t even see it passing. I thought it would be so hard to eat raw, but this is the most fun I’ve had with food and my diet ever, really. I feel so strong during my workouts, I can push myself so much harder, I have so much more energy and enthusiasm. I have never felt this radiant, beautiful, clean, alive, connected to myself as I’ve felt for the passed 3 weeks. I completely believe in the healing power of foods, and if I thought I believed before, I don’t even know what to call how I feel now.

With the right planning, the right mindset and a GREAT support system, I realize I can do ANYTHING.

Planning has been a really important part of my success. I do my groceries throughout the week, and on Monday’s I spend a few hours “cooking” (mixing, blending, food processor-ing) and packing everything into Tupperware. Preparing all my meals for the week at the start of the week saves SO much time. I don’t need to do anything throughout the week but pack my lunches and make a salad. It has also saved me so much money! I used to have to buy prepackaged/premade meals sometimes when I was rushed and couldn’t make a lunch for myself. Now the only things I’ll buy is fruits and veggies to replenish my stock. Every night after work, I pack all my food for the next day into other Tupperware and enter all my foods into my calorie tracker (My Fitness Pal). By doing this, I can really see how much of each nutrient I’m getting, whether I need to add or subtract something, and I can plan how many meals I’ll eat throughout the day. As I’ve mentioned before, I eat every 2-3 hours. I’ve been eating this way for a few months now, so I’ve grown accustomed to this schedule. I know what’s best for me to eat and when. Of course for someone just starting out, it will take time to get used to, but TRUST ME, all this becomes second nature and it isn’t complicated at ALL. You just have to stick with it!

When committing to a lifestyle change, such as deciding to eat cleaner, or following a workout routine, your MINDSET is EVERYTHING. Whatever you tell yourself is exactly what will happen. Your brain is the most powerful part of your whole being. If you wake up and tell yourself you’re exhausted, sore, not in the mood, well sorry to break to you, but your workout will suck. On the contrary, if you wake up and tell yourself you have so much energy, and that you’re EXCITED to do your workout (sometimes its okay to tell a little white lie!), your body will believe it and your workout will ROCK! Trust me! I’ve had a LOT of experience with this. Of course there are days where I don’t feel like working out. Of course there are days where I’m sore and I’d rather just sleep some more, or watch tv. But I know I’ll feel a billion trillion times better after my workout, and I know I’ll regret it if I stay in bed. So every morning I jump out of bed, slap a smile on and think, “I’M NOT TIRED! I HAVE SO MUCH ENERGY! I’M GOING TO CRUSH THIS WORKOUT!” Your body will believe whatever your mind tells it. So make it positive and energized. Be your own cheerleader every day! No one can determine your success. Only YOU can. So give it your all!

Having a great SUPPORT SYSTEM is super important as well. You will be so much more successful in your endeavors if you have someone or someones on your side, rooting for you, believing in you, helping you, guiding you, coming along on the same journey as you. We all need accountability. The only person who really determines your accountability, however, is yourself. You can’t rely on others to MAKE you do your workouts, just the same way that you can’t make others do theirs. But having someone to turn to, having someone to tell you “GET UP AND WORK OUT” or give you a big high five after you’re done and saying “wow, great job, I’m so proud of you!” can make all the difference.

I’ve got my best friend Stef along on my journey with me since the beginning. We started off with Insanity together, and since then we’ve been each others coaches, accountability partners, shoulder to cry on, wheelchairs (when we killed our legs doing jump squats), motivators, inspirations. We’ve been through this entire transformation together. We both started off not knowing what was in store for us. We were very sad, negative, angry girls. We ate lots of vegan junk food and drank a lot of wine. We didn’t have anyone coaching us through our journey except ourselves (and of course Chalene, in her dvds). I’ve changed SO MUCH, I’ve learned SO MUCH. Through trial and error, research, reading, practice, trust, patience and lots of faith, I’ve made it to where I am today and I couldn’t have done it without my best friend. Of course my family is a big support as well, but when you’re going through a big lifestyle change, you need the help of those going through (or who have gone through) the same thing. Especially making changes in your fitness, not everyone will understand what you’re going through. Some people might be skeptical, or jealous of your progress and success, or confused and not know what to say or do. This is why we all need help from those who have been there. It makes it that much easier, it makes it that much more REAL, like YES I WILL GET THERE, I CAN DO IT!

As you can probably tell, health and fitness is my absolute passion. I’ve spent my whole life trying to figure that out. I went to school and studied so many other things (photography and aesthetics being the major ones), trying to find my passion. Little did I know that my passion would find me, that it would settle itself deeper into my heart every day I pushed play and punched and kicked and sweat.

I truly want to help others who want to make the change in their lives. I want to be a motivator, a supporter, a coach. I love helping people with their goals, with their eating habits, with any question or concern they may have. I want others to feel how I feel. I know how hard it can be, I know all the struggles that come every day, and I want to be there to help people through them.

If you’re ready to make a lifestyle change, if you need someone to talk to, if you have any questions about health or nutrition (doesn’t have to be vegan! I know a lot more than just vegan things), any questions about fitness, I’m here to answer them to the best of my abilities. I’m on this journey of life and I’m nowhere near done learning all the things I want to know and all the things I can know. What I do know is this: it brings me great joy to see others succeed and change their lives for the better, and I know how it feels, I have changed mine, and I want to help you change yours.

Please do not hesitate to email me at verbichlaura@gmail.com and add me on Facebook and on Instagram (username: lauraverbich). I can’t wait to hear from you!

Peace & love, always,
xx Laura

2 thoughts on “How to Succeed! (& an update on my personal challenge)

  1. I LOVE YOU!
    and we will always be each others personal cheerleaders, shoulders to cry on , wheelchairs, support system, you name it!
    WE ARE MONICA AND CHALENE 🙂
    xxx

Comment!

