Delicious Raw Energy Bars

spicy-power-energy-bars-DSC_7792

Hey everyone! I hope you’ve all been having a great week! December is already here, I can’t believe how quickly time is passing. It’s already been a month that I have been blogging! 🙂 Thanks for reading my posts and for your positive feedback, I just love writing here and do my best to write as much as I can!

Today I’m going to share with you a few simple recipes that I have been making ever since starting my raw/Thrive diet challenge 3 weeks ago. In the Thrive Diet, Brendan Brazier recommends that you eat one energy bar/ball per day, so that is exactly what I’ve been doing. I make a different flavour every week, and have mine in the mid-afternoon just as I’m getting a little hungry for lunch, and it gives me a nice boost of energy and fills me up until it is time for my lunch. They’re completely raw, quick and easy to make, packed full of nutrients and delicious!

The instructions on how to make these are all the same. All you need is a food processor or high-speed blender (such as… sigh… the Vitamix<3). Combine all ingredients in your processor of choice, and blend/pulse until the mix is consistent. If you like it sort of chunky, process for less time, but if you like your bars smoother, keep going until you like the look of the texture.

There are three ways the shape the bars. 1) You can roll out the mixture into several little balls (which is what I do) using the palms of your hands, or 2) form into a brick and cut like bread, or 3) flatten the mixture, cover with plastic wrap and flatten with a rolling pin until your desired thickness and cut into bars.

All recipes make approx 12 1-3/4 oz bars.
Each bar is approx 85-100 calories.

Apple Cinnamon Energy Bars

1 small apple, cored
1 cup fresh or soaked dates
1/2 cups soaked or cooked quinoa (I used popped amaranth, bought in a store)
1/4 cup calmonds
1/4 cup ground flaxseed
1/4 cup hemp flour (I used hemp protein)
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
Sea salt to taste

Banana Bread Energy Bars

1 small banana
3/4 cup fresh or soaked dates
1/2 cup popped amaranth
1/2 cup walnuts
1/4 cup ground sesame seeds (I put them in whole, or use a coffee grinder to grind into a fine powder)
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
Sea salt to taste

Pomegranate Amaranth Energy Bars

3/4 cup fresh or soaked dates
1/2 cup pomegranate seeds (the amount from 1/2 of a pomegranate)
1/2 cup ground flaxseed
1/4 cup hemp seeds
1/4 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 tsp lemon zest
1/4 cup popped amaranth
Sea salt to taste

Chocolate Blueberry Energy Bars

1 cup fresh or soaked dates
1/4 cup almonds
1/4 cup blueberries
1/4 cup cocoa nibs (or roasted carob or cocoa powder if you don’t mind that it isn’t raw)
1/4 cup ground flaxseed
1/4 cup hemp protein
1/4 cup sesame seeds
1 tsp fresh lemon juice
1/2 cup sprouted or cooked buckwheat (optional- I used popped amaranth)
1/2 cup frozen blueberries
Sea salt to taste.

And voila! Some quick and easy energy bars, much less expensive than you’ll find in grocery stores or health food stores, and much better for you! I prepare a big batch on Mondays (my food prep days) for the week ahead. What I love about these is that they freeze super well, and keep for a long time. I leave them in the freezer and pack one a day for my lunch, so they thaw in the fridge. I love that I can have an energy bar but I know exactly what’s in it, so I know it’s good for me. Feel free to play around with the different nuts and seeds, experiment and have fun with it! Let me know if you try out a recipe, or if you have any recipes of your own! I love new recipes 🙂

Have a beautiful, bright and happy day everyone!

Peace, love and positive energy,
xx Laura

2 thoughts on “Delicious Raw Energy Bars

Comment!

