#BIGGREENSALAD

Hey all! As those of you who follow me on Instagram know, I am OBSESSED and IN LOVE with BIG GREEN SALADS! I have one every single day. I’m here today to tell you WHY, and hopefully convince you to try it out, too!

Image
First things first: WHOLE, PLANT BASED FOODS are the best thing we could put into our bodies, EVER (perhaps besides water). Fruit and vegetables are perfect, and when we eat them, we are doing exactly what nature intended. Our bodies respond well to these whole foods, they crave the nutrients and they do a little happy dance whenever we feed them these delicious foods! Mother Nature knows her stuff. This is the number one reason why I eat a big green salad every day – I KNOW it’s amazing for me. I know it’s the healthiest thing I could do. Simply adding a big salad, with a lot of greens and other colored veggies, I know I’m treating my body right. And when you treat your body right, it treats you right BACK!

Not only should you eat a salad every day because it is healthy, but there are so many benefits you will actually see and feel that it will be hard not to. Green veggies are chock-full of chlorophyll. Chlorophyll is the color of LIFE. It is literally the color of the plant’s blood. When we ingest this amazing nutrient, we are ingesting LIFE – pure, sunshiney, living, oxygen, love and power. It’s a breath of fresh air for your body.

Here’s some tips on HOW TO BUILD A BIG GREEN SALAD:

1. Start off with your LEAFY GREEN BASE. This could be any leafy green you desire, but always try and get ORGANIC : spinach, romaine, green leaf, red leaf, swiss chard, kale, baby kale, arugula, watercress… feel free to mix them up!
2. Add a TON of veggies! Get creative! My standards include: cucumber, red bell pepper, purple cabbage, green onion, pickles, celery. You can add carrots, zucchini, fennel, cooked veggies, sweet potatoes… whatever you desire!
3. Add your PROTEIN. I use sprouted beans, lentils and chickpeas usually. (I wrote a post about sprouting your own beans HERE) You can also use canned or cooked legumes, baked or raw tofu or tempeh. They all provide protein, but with different flavours and textures, so your salad need never be boring.
4. Add your EXTRAS. I usually add in a tablespoon of nutritional yeast, dried Italian herbs and hemp seeds. You can add ANYTHING, really: pink Himalayan salt, cracked pepper, dulse flakes, chia seeds, ground flaxseeds, fresh herbs, raw or roasted nuts or seeds, dried or fresh fruit, spices…
6. Add your DRESSING. I’ve been partial to adding a few tablespoons of lentil dip or hummus to my salads lately – it gives it a creamy texture and taste that I LOVE! You could also just add a smushed avocado for the creaminess. Classics include olive oil and balsamic vinegar, but you could experiment. There’s a ton of different oils out there – give them a try! I love hemp seed oil, flaxseed oil and Vega EFA oil blend. Apple cider vinegar has a ton of health benefits, and a great flavour, too. You could ALSO make a simple dressing by blending some fresh fruit and pouring it over your salad for a fresh, fruity taste! YUM!
7. Mix it up and DEVOUR!

You really CAN’T go wrong when building a salad. Pretty soon, you’ll figure out which flavour combo you love the best, and if you’re like me, you’ll be making the same thing every day! I do like to mix it up every once in awhile for variety. Making salad is SO MUCH FUN! And its soooooooo delicious!

I hope this inspired YOU to start making BIGGREENSALADS! Follow me on Instagram to check out my creations, and don’t forget to use the tag #BIGGREENSALAD so I can see your creations! As always, feel free to add me on Facebook or email me at verbichlaura@gmail.com for ANYTHING!

Peace, love and greens,
xx Laura

Here’s a few fun facts about the benefits of CHLOROPHYLL:

  • Cleanses and oxygenates and builds the blood
  • A powerful detoxification effect on the body
  • Rich in enzymes that promote quick rejuvenation of our cells
  • High in Amino acids
  • Extracts toxins form the liver and improves liver function
  • Regulator of calcium
  • Helps break addiction
  • Alkalizes the body
  • Anti-inflammatory
  • Wound-healing properties
  • Fight infection
  • Anti-oxidant – neutralize free radicals
  • Promotes healthy intestinal flora
  • Helps reverse protein-deficient anemia
  • Protection from cancer
  • Helps skin disorders
2 thoughts on “#BIGGREENSALAD

  1. LOVE GREEN SALADS! I share your love fot it big time. I have to have one massive per day. Feels wrong if not!!! After making the transition to a clean diet it is amaaaazing how every single veggie tastes SO GOOD. You really start to appreciate it!! Love your blog posts girl. Keep shining!!!

  2. Great post! Where do you get your files flakes? I can’t seem to find them anywhere (I’m from MTL too!)

Comment!

