SUPERFOOD CHIA CHILI

ImageHAPPY MONDAYS, everyone! Or should I say, happy MEAL PREP Monday! Every Monday, I devote a few hours to prepare my meals for the week. I’ve already written a post about the importance of meal prep, check it out! Basically, preparing meals ahead of time saves you so much time and MONEY and calories. Creating a meal plan, seperating your various meals into Tuppeware containers at the proper portions will allow you to have more freedom during the week, save you money on buying lunches, allow you to have clean and fast food all week, and for me, it is FUN!

Here’s a recipe I’ve been making for a long time now. I found it in Brendan Brazier’s book Whole Foods To Thrive. It’s called SUPERFOOD CHIA CHILI and I LOVE it! I’m going to write down the recipe as it is stated in the book, with my variations in brackets. I know you’ll enjoy it both ways! Be prepared to have your mind BLOWN!

Time: 10 minutes; 6 hours to soak the quinoa
Makes 4 servings

Ingredients:
1/4 cup chia seeds
1 cup water
4 tbsp tomato sauce (optional, but highly recommended)
1 handful fresh cilantro, finely chopped
1 handful fresh parsley, finely chopped
1/4-1/2 cup sprouted red quinoa or sprouted buckwheat (I’ve used red kidney beans, canned or dried, and it’s delicious)
2-4 tbsp each celery, tomato, bell pepper, red onion, chopped
2-4 tbsp cold pressed olive oil (I don’t use oil and it’s just fine)
1-3 tbsp tomato powder (or paprika)
1-4 tsp chili powder
1-2 tsp cumin
1/2-1 tsp turmeric
1-3 tsp apple cider vinegar
1/2 tsp jalapeno flakes (optional)
1/2-1 tsp himalayan pink salt

Intrusctions: Combine the chia seeds and 1/2 cup warm water in a bowl and mix thoroughly. Add the remaining ingredients, including the reminaing 1/2 cup of water. ENJOY!

What are some of your fave chili recipes? Do you meal prep? Will you start? It is the key to your fitness success!

Peace, love and beans,

xx Laura

4 thoughts on “SUPERFOOD CHIA CHILI

Comment!

